Eiffel 65

I feel the need to remind everybody of this group. You obviously remember them from their hit ‘Blue‘ back in ’99. I didn’t realize how truly groundbreaking the album actually was.

Europop is a the debut album by Italian electronic group Eiffel 65. The album was released in 1999 under Bliss Corporation and Universal Records and Republic Music (Universal and Republic would merge to Universal Republic). Featuring pitch-corrected vocals and Eurodisco beats throughout,[6] the album is most notable for the group’s two biggest hits: “Blue (Da Ba Dee)” and “Move Your Body“, which topped the charts worldwide. Despite hailing from Italy, Eiffel 65 performs all songs on this album in English. It is widely considered as a landmark album of the 1990s and was critical in opening Eurodance to a global audience.

The album peaked at number four on the Billboard 200 in the United States, and the song “Blue (Da Ba Dee)” peaked at number six on the Billboard Hot 100, impressive for an EDM song at the time of its release. In February 2000, the album was certified two-times platinum by the Recording Industry Association of America (RIAA) for shipments of two million copies in the US.”

Anyway, I remember buying it for like $7 from my French friend at a swim meet around age 10 or so… I remember I really liked ‘Blue’ but it was ‘Move Your Body’ that was the real deal sealer.

I don’t know what reminded me of them last night. I guess they seem strangely relevant within this very apparent contemporary revival of pseudo-human, often psychedelic visual ideals, and a deeply ’90s inspired techno aesthetic… and somehow also, the color blue.

About TARA

American Photographer. Musician. Writer. Science enthusiast.
This entry was posted in SOUND. Bookmark the permalink.