on love and music

So a long time ago, I was in love with a guy back in Denver. From the day we met, I was completely in love with him- for the better part of a year and a half. He picked me up from school once and took me to get coffee. I was wearing a royal blue one piece racerback under a handmade violet floral mid-thigh length skirt, black strap wedges, and a thick gold chain necklace. He was wearing red, lightly acid washed jeans, a black and white horizontal thick striped tank, and black Vans. I don’t remember what we talked about. All I remember was thinking he was perfect. The week that followed was one of the best of my life. I thought I was falling in love. It was probably the only time I’ve ever really felt love; it wasn’t being in love though. Looking back, it couldn’t have been more than the complex chemical reaction in the human brain associated with the experience of love. So intense. I don’t feel like it counts. He never loved me back. Only recently have I been able to go back and pull out the music I was in to during that time. I first heard of Mackintosh Braun about two years ago, shortly after I met this guy. We drove to LA for New Years in ’09 and we listened to this band nearly the whole trip. The song ‘Here’ was the one that killed me. It still does. ‘Good So Far’ reminds me of driving down the 110 at like 2am with my best friend Annalise [during that trip] from Hollywood; you can drive so fast in LA. I love it. Just thinking about it makes me wanna cry. I really need to go back there.

It’s really unfortunate when you end up associating beautiful music with a desperate situation, a non-place, or an invalidated affection; it makes it very hard to want to hear it after the struggle it was the soundtrack to is over. These guys are just too good, though. Plus, they’ve come out with a new album so I have some newness to fall in love with, on my own. My friend told me not to share them with anyone when he showed me their music. He said he didn’t want them to blow up, like the music was somehow better because he was the only one who knew about it. I only promised not to share it because I only wanted to share it with him. I wanted it to be ours.

But they’re amazing.
And I think you should know.

This song is the first track off their most recent album.
Both can be purchased on iTunes.

About TARA

American Photographer. Musician. Writer. Science enthusiast.
This entry was posted in BE GOLDD, music. Bookmark the permalink.